Continuing Education FAQs
No, there is no additional fee to enroll online. However, to enroll via telephone, U.S. mail or fax, there is an additional $10.00 processing fee. Please include this fee with your total payment.
Walk-in registrants are always welcome to attend and register on the day of class. However, please be aware that the CE Department may not be able to accommodate you for lunch.
For all standard continuing education courses, the following policy is in effect in order to utilize your vacated seat:
All cancellations must be submitted via e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org within 7 days prior to the scheduled class. At the time of cancellation, a 90% refund will be applied. For cancellations received within 7 days of class, a 75% refund will be applied. In addition, all cancellations will be subject to an administrative fee of $25.00 deducted from the stated refund amount.
Any cancellations received within 3 days of the scheduled class will not be given a refund. There are no exceptions.
Due to limited seating available for workshop, lab and live patient grand rounds courses, as well as a much smaller student-teacher ratio, the following policy is in effect in order to utilize your vacated seat:
All cancellations must be submitted via e-mail to email@example.com within 14 days prior to the scheduled class. At the time of cancellation, an 80% refund will be applied. In addition, all cancellations will be subject to an administrative fee of $50.00 deducted from the stated refund amount.
Any cancellations received within 14 days of the scheduled class will not be given a refund. There are no exceptions.
Credit letters will be sent via email within 21 days of course completion. To ensure that messages are delivered to your inbox, please set your personal email filter to accept email from firstname.lastname@example.org.
Arrival and departure times will be noted on the sign-in sheet. You will receive credit for each full hour of attendance. Per the California State Board of Optometry requirements, if you arrive 20 minutes after class begins, you will lose one full credit of CE.
No, sadly. Our academic lecture halls are state-of-the-art and have computer ports installed on each desk. If food or drinks were accidentally spilled into the ports, it would be very expensive to repair. However, you are welcome to bring bottled water into the lecture halls.
Yes. The Optometric Clinical Seminars series are offered on Thursday afternoons during the academic year at the VA of Greater Los Angeles locations. For more information about Optometric Clinical Seminars, please visit the VA Clinical Seminars page.
No. Because we are an accredited institution, The California State Board of Optometry — as well as most U.S. states — will accept CE units earned at SCCO. It is recommended that you check the requirements with your local state board before enrolling in a course.
Of the 50 units required by the California State Board of Optometry for license renewal, 35 units must be therapeutic education with a focus on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease.
No. It is the responsibility of the optometrist to keep track of units earned. If you need a certificate of completion or transcript and would like information on how to obtain a copy, please see CE Transcript Requests.
Yes. To enroll in and complete COPE-approved online coursework, please visit the Online Coursework page.
Of the 50 units required by the California State Board of Optometry for license renewal, a maximum of 20 units of online coursework will be accepted.
Online exams may be retaken an unlimited number of times for up to one year after enrollment.
Please check the receipt you received when you registered for the course. You will be required to enter your unique registration code, as well as your full name. Names must be entered exactly as they were at the time of registration. The online course log-in page is case-sensitive.
If you are still having trouble, please do not register for the course an additional time. If you need assistance, contact the CE Department immediately. Refunds will not be provided for duplicate registrations.
No. At this time, MBKU does not offer alternative methods for earning CE.
In order to become glaucoma-certified, you will need to complete the following courses:
- 24-Hour Didactic Course with Exam (if graduation date is prior to May 1, 2000)
- Case Management Course with Exam
- Grand Rounds Course with Live Patients
Optometrists who graduated before May 1, 2008 must complete the required coursework if they wish to become glaucoma-certified.
No. There is no specific order in which you must complete each class.
No. Glaucoma certifications from other states will not be recognized by the California State Board of Optometry. You must complete the required coursework to become certified in the state of California.
Of the 50 units required by the California State Board of Optometry for license renewal, 10 units must be glaucoma education.
For more information about glaucoma certification, please visit the California State Board of Optometry website.
The campus library will often be open for visitors during CE courses. However, hours change on a monthly basis. If you would like to know the library hours during a course for which you are in attendance, please visit the registration desk on the day of class to speak with a CE Representative.